How To Understand and Balance Your Chakra

Connect with Facebook to get our Newsletter!

Follow Us:

The purpose of chakra balancing, otherwise known as chakra awakening, is to balance energy in the body. Your energies exist and function much like your physical body does. When one aspect is damaged or blocked, it can affect your emotional health as well. Chakras are focal points for your energies, starting at your head and descending down your spine.

50% OFF Crystal Healing & The Power it Gives You

There are seven generally recognized chakras.

First: The root chakra is located at the base of your spine and is red in color. It deals with survival issues, such as food, money and basic comfort. Keeping the root chakra balanced is a key component in maintaining a balanced life. When fundamental aspects of your life seem out of joint, focusing on your root chakra is the first place to start healing.

Second: The sacral chakra is located in the lower abdomen and is orange in color. Its element is water, and it focuses on sexual relationships, pleasure, friendship and personal wellbeing.

Third: The solar plexus chakra is in the upper abdomen and is yellow in color. Its element is fire and it links to the energetic state of the physical and emotional body. A healthy solar plexus chakra provides you with the willpower, focus and confidence to pursue your goals.

Fourth: The heart chakra is right in the middle of your chest. Its color is green and its element is air. Many consider it the most important of the focal points, as it focuses on your connection with all of humanity. As your heart chakra opens, you are able to freely express feelings of gratitude and love.

Fifth: The throat chakra (located in your throat) is bright blue in color. It rules speech, sound and communication. An open throat chakra enables you to express your feelings and thoughts in a healthy way.

Sixth: One of the most well-known chakras, the third eye is on your forehead between your eyes. Its color is indigo blue, and it relates to your intuition and your ability to see beyond the physical. This chakra directly affects your imagination, wisdom and decision-making abilities.

Seventh: The crown chakra is located on top of your head. Its color is purple, and it is the creative center where you connect with your higher self. A balanced crown chakra enhances your appreciation of the divine intelligence in the universe.

Your chakras are intertwined, so when one of them is blocked, the cascading effects can be extremely detrimental. Think of your physical body like the hardware of a computer; it's a functional machine that runs as long as it is maintained and has power (such as food, drink, etc.). A computer cannot function without the proper software. Your chakras function like the computer's software, harnessing its power for specific purposes. Just like a computer, your energy system can pick up damaging energies. Chakra balancing works similarly to a virus detection program, cleansing the system to avoid long-term damage.

There are several recommended techniques of chakra balancing.

Hands-on: A hands on approach is a traditional approach to balancing chakras. It requires a detailed understanding of how the chakras relate to one another, so it's often recommended that you go to a professional.

Emotional Freedom Technique: Emotional Freedom Technique (EFT) involves tapping key energy points on your body and reciting affirmations and resolutions.

Gemstones: Gemstones are often used to cleanse and activate chakras. You place specific stones on each one of them and chant special mantras, known as seed sounds,

Meditation: Meditation is the simplest and one of the most effective methods. It involves being in a relaxed physical state while focusing on a specific chakra.

Balanced chakras can enable you to connect more easily with goals that feel right for you on a deeply emotional level.

Chakra Stones: Chakra stones are a specific system of chakra balancing. You place a specific stone (each chakra has one) on one chakra, and you meditate.

Meditation: Meditation is the simplest and one of the most effective methods of chakra balancing. It involves a relaxed physical state, coupled with focused attention on a specific chakra.

To improve page loading speed, we have put the photo gallery for this article on the next page: view photo gallery.

Privacy Policy